]> sipb.mit.edu Git - ikiwiki.git/commitdiff
response
authorJason Blevins <jrblevin@sdf.lonestar.org>
Fri, 24 Oct 2008 22:08:06 +0000 (18:08 -0400)
committerJason Blevins <jrblevin@sdf.lonestar.org>
Fri, 24 Oct 2008 22:10:35 +0000 (18:10 -0400)
doc/news/git_push_to_this_wiki/discussion.mdwn

index 252fe724ac5245788d7dbc71400f432708f1b68f..f948ee6cf7a67dac45a13489db32db68b02caa83 100644 (file)
@@ -24,3 +24,12 @@ in awful and various ways when it is not the case. Any alternative idea?
 > but I sometimes use `git pull --rebase` to pull changes from a repo. That
 > will rebase your local changes on top of the changes pulled, avoiding the
 > merge commits. I'm sure more involved solutions are possible. --[[Joey]]
+
+> I decided to use my local `master` branch as a copy of `origin/master`
+> (kitenet) and move my local modifications to a separate branch.  I'm using
+> `master` to edit the wiki but there is still the problem of new upstream
+> commits since the last pull.  I already had this problem as Joey had pushed
+> some changes while I was editing locally.  Not knowing about
+> `pull --rebase`, I took the long way out: branch, roll back HEAD, rebase,
+> and merge.  That was too much work...It looks like `pull --rebase` is the
+> way to go. --[[JasonBlevins]]