update
authorJoey Hess <joey@kitenet.net>
Fri, 25 Feb 2011 20:31:37 +0000 (16:31 -0400)
committerJoey Hess <joey@kitenet.net>
Fri, 25 Feb 2011 20:36:04 +0000 (16:36 -0400)
doc/bugs/Checksum_errors_on_the_pristine-tar_branch.mdwn

index 463b7b3f37bf0840f710f062a85661144644130c..471dad98cb0480ad620e10af9e1a58be35f614ad 100644 (file)
@@ -78,6 +78,15 @@ The operation fails on these files with a "Checksum validation failed" error fro
 >> sunny256's failure cases might just result from the older tar and pristine-tar
 >> on Ubuntu 10.04? --[[smcv]]
 
 >> sunny256's failure cases might just result from the older tar and pristine-tar
 >> on Ubuntu 10.04? --[[smcv]]
 
+>>> Yes, I can reproduce the same failures sunny256 saw using Debian oldstable. Once I
+>>> upgrade pristine-tar and tar, it goes away, so I think it is the 100
+>>> byte filename bug affecting those.
+>>>
+>>> As to the ones we all see fail, I dunno what it is, but probably
+>>> has to do with some kind of historical issue in the versions of
+>>> pristine-tar/tar used to create them. We may never know what went wrong
+>>> there. --[[Joey]] [[done]]
+
 A complete output of the "pristine-tar checkout" of all files is stored on <https://gist.github.com/836720> .
 
 For now, I'll download the `.tar.gz` from <http://packages.debian.org/unstable/source/ikiwiki>, or maybe install `ikiwiki_3.20110124_all.deb`. Would you recommend using that `.deb` file on Ubuntu 10.04.2 LTS, or is it Debian-specific? -- [[sunny256]] 2011-02-21 08:42+0100
 A complete output of the "pristine-tar checkout" of all files is stored on <https://gist.github.com/836720> .
 
 For now, I'll download the `.tar.gz` from <http://packages.debian.org/unstable/source/ikiwiki>, or maybe install `ikiwiki_3.20110124_all.deb`. Would you recommend using that `.deb` file on Ubuntu 10.04.2 LTS, or is it Debian-specific? -- [[sunny256]] 2011-02-21 08:42+0100