git event
authorGeoffrey Thomas <geofft@mit.edu>
Sat, 10 Sep 2011 03:14:52 +0000 (23:14 -0400)
committerGeoffrey Thomas <geofft@mit.edu>
Sat, 10 Sep 2011 03:16:06 +0000 (23:16 -0400)
events/2011-09-11-git.mdwn [new file with mode: 0644]

diff --git a/events/2011-09-11-git.mdwn b/events/2011-09-11-git.mdwn
new file mode 100644 (file)
index 0000000..1192f9b
--- /dev/null
@@ -0,0 +1,24 @@
+[[!meta title="A Somewhat Technical Introduction to git"]]
+
+h1. A Somewhat Technical Introduction to git
+
+*Sunday, September 11, 5-7 PM, room 4-231*
+
+Based on our past IAP class "Git Will Make Your Life Better", we will be
+offering a 2-hour class on the [git version control
+system](http://git-scm.com/). If you're not very familiar with git (even if you
+have experience with another VCS such as Subversion), or have been using it a
+little but feel you don't "get it," you'll probably get a lot out of this
+session.
+
+We'll cover common and uncommon commands, the structure of a git repository so
+you can reason about how to make commands do what you want (along the lines of
+["Git for Computer
+Scientists"](http://eagain.net/articles/git-for-computer-scientists/), but in
+much more depth), and the basics of collaboration, distributed development, and
+so forth. The focus will largely depend on what attendees want to see covered.
+
+You're encouraged to bring your laptop, since we'll work through a few example
+repos.
+
+For questions, contact [Geoffrey Thomas](mailto:geofft@mit.edu).