Set default User-Agent to something that doesn't mention libwww-perl
authorSimon McVittie <smcv@debian.org>
Sat, 11 Oct 2014 08:43:34 +0000 (09:43 +0100)
committerSimon McVittie <smcv@debian.org>
Sun, 12 Oct 2014 16:45:27 +0000 (17:45 +0100)
It appears that both the open-source and proprietary rulesets for
ModSecurity default to blacklisting requests that say they are
from libwww-perl, presumably because some script kiddies use libwww-perl
and are too inept to set a User-Agent that is "too big to blacklist",
like Chrome or the iPhone browser or something. This seems doomed to
failure but whatever.

IkiWiki.pm

index 570c185ad3728cbe685e62364c06f3c2b54bf616..1043ef4024ba5994d773b524103c46baad50b084 100644 (file)
@@ -543,7 +543,7 @@ sub getsetup () {
        },
        useragent => {
                type => "string",
-               default => undef,
+               default => "ikiwiki/$version",
                example => "Wget/1.13.4 (linux-gnu)",
                description => "set custom user agent string for outbound HTTP requests e.g. when fetching aggregated RSS feeds",
                safe => 0,